Ohio, a U.S. state located just on northeastern edge of a Midwest, is a member of the United States. To the north of Lake Erie are the states of Ohio, New York, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Kentucky, while to the west and south are Indiana and Michigan.

The state of Ohio is among the smallest west of the Appalachians, ranking 34th in terms of overall area among 50 states. In terms of population, however, the state is in the upper echelons.

In 1816, Ohio’s capital was moved from Chillicothe and Zanesville to Columbus, a newly founded and strategically positioned city in the state’s early years. An Iroquoian term meaning “big water” is the origin of the state’s name, which is derived from the Ohio River.